This page is for ABTT Cymru information and material.

The Wales Technical Forum joined ABTT in 2014 and formed ABTT Cymru. It is administered out of the Wales Millennium Centre with meetings taking place at least twice a year throughout Wales. Our aims are to develop a better trained workforce throughout Wales leading to more sustainable organisations able to offer enhanced creative productions to communities and improved employment opportunities to the current and future workforce.

In 2016 ABTT Cymru launched the Shared Technical Apprenticeship scheme. The scheme welcomes young people from a variety of different backgrounds and by using the ABTT Bronze award, alongside work based learning the Apprentices gain the skills and experience to enter the professional world of backstage technical theatre. The scheme has proved  popular and has been awarded funding from the Welsh Government, the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation and the Welsh Livery Guild.

List of ABTT Cymru organisation members

  • Wales Millennium Centre*
  • Welsh National Opera*
  • National Theatre Wales*
  • Theatr Clwyd*
  • Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama*
  • Aberystwyth Arts Centre
  • Theatr Genedlaethol Cymru*
  • Telgwen
  • Motorpoint Arena
  • Torch Theatre
  • Blackwood Miner’s Institute*
  • Sherman Cymru
  • New Theatre
  • Swansea Grand
  • St David’s Hall
  • Taliesin Arts Centre
  • Theatr Hafren*
  • Pontio**
  • Venue Cymru*
  • Theatr Mwldan
  • Theatr Ffwrnes
  • Chapter Arts Centre*
  • National Dance Company Wales*
  • St Donat’s Arts Centre

*ABTT Affiliated Organisation

** ABTT Large Affiliated Organisation

Recently ABTT Cymru have been working on a Welsh glossary of theatre terminology.  It is still a work in progress but is accessible below so people can start using it:

Technical Theatre Glossary – Welsh