An ABTT Regional committee was inaugurated at a meeting chaired by Percy Corry in Manchester 1970; as ABTT North. To provide a forum for northern theatre technicians – Herbert Hughes as initial Chair with Geoff Joyce Secretary. ABTT North was renamed as ABTT NorthNet in 2000.

Since 1970 it has been very active, arranging visits and meetings covering a wide range of subjects. From 1980 it organised Northern Trade Shows usually at two year intervals in several venues from Manchester to Harrogate, which always included specialist Seminars. When AC set up its larger Trade Shows at The Royal Armouries in Leeds; AC took over from our Northern ABTT shows. Over the years this ABTT group has organised a series of one day seminars, training and safety meetings. It also set up a conference on Georgian Theatre held in the Georgian Theatre at Richmond, N.Yorks.

One of its main aims is to involve as many working technicians as possible in NorthNet activities. To that end the Committee meets in a wide variety of venues in Lancashire, Mersyside and Yorkshire, usually in theatres, and encourages technicians from the host theatre to take part in each meeting.

The Philip Windsor Spanner Award. The ABTT  honours the special long-term contributions of Phillip Windsor to ABTT North (later NorthNet) and to the ABTT in general by the presentation of the Philip Windsor Spanner Award. As an engineer his contributions were both in practice and method allied to the application of computer technology, and for many years he was involved in lighting amateur shows. ABTT NorthNet has symbolised his contributions by the creation  of  the  Spanner Award: after major surgery and while still confined to hospital, Philip asked his wife Anne to bring him a spanner, he wanted to adjust the anglepoise lamp over his bed – once a lighting man, always a lighting man.

Current committee:

Chairman: elected at each meeting.
Secretary: Vernon Blades
David Aspinall
Neil Bohanna
Mike Brown
David Cusworth
Robert Morgan
Jean Shevelan
Jack Watling
David Wilmore

Committee minutes are circulated to: Council, ABTT Chairman, Administrator, retired committee members, and to others with interests and advice in NorthNet activities.