Charcoalblue LLP

Charcoalblue LLP logo - dark blue

 

Key personnel/Contacts
General – studio@charcoalblue.com
Andy Hayles, Managing Partner – andy.hayles@charcoalblue.com
Gavin Green, Senior Partner: Design and Marketing – gavin.green@charcoalblue.com
Jon Stevens, Senior Partner: Finance and Contracts – jon.stevens@charcoalblue.com
Gary Sparkes, Partner: Operations – gary.sparkes@charcoalblue.com
Katy Winter, Partner: People – katy.winter@charcoalblue.com
Rich Garfield, London Studio Principal – rich.garfield@charcoalblue.com
Steve Roberts, Bristol Studio Principal - steve.roberts@charcoalblue.com
Steve Green, Glasgow Studio Prinicpal – steve.green@charcoalblue.com
John Owens, Partner and New York Studio Principal – john.owens@charcoalblue.com
Eric Lawrence, Melbourne Studio Principal – eric.lawrence@charcoalblue.com
Nicholas Smith, Marketing Coordinator – nicholas.smith@charcoalblue.com


Company Addresses:

London Studio:
180 The Strand
2 Arundel Street
London
WC2R 3DA
UK
Tel: +44 (0)20 7928 0000

Bristol Studio:
6 King Street
Bristol
BS1 4EQ
UK
Tel: +44 (0)117 325 9280

Glasgow Studio:
The Old Sheriff Court
105 Brunswick Street
Glasgow
G1 1TF
UK
Tel: +44 (0) 141 280 9280

New York Studio:
150 West 28th Street
Suite 1504
New York
NY 10001
USA
Tel: +1.212.645.0790

Melbourne Studio:
4A/104 Johnston Street
Fitzroy, VIC 3065
Melbourne
Australia
Tel: +61 (03) 9417 6524

 

Telephone: +44 (0)20 7928 0000
Website: www.charcoalblue.com
Email:  studio@charcoalblue.com
Twitter:  @CharcoalblueTC
Linkedin: Charcoalblue
Facebook:
  charcoalblue
Instagram: charcoalbluetc

 

Core Business/Areas of Diversification:

  • Theatre Consultancy
  • Acoustic Consultancy
  • Lead Consultancy
  • Digital Consultancy

 

Company Profile
Charcoalblue is the world’s leading theatre design consultancy. Founded in 2004, they have grown to a team of more than fifty working across five international studios including London, Bristol, Glasgow, New York and Melbourne.

As the theatre consultants, acousticians and digital designers of choice for many of the world’s leading architects and theatre companies, our UK portfolio includes 7 auditoria for the Royal Shakespeare Company, 2 auditoria for the National Theatre as well as new spaces for ENO, Gyndebourne and the Royal Opera House. Our North American projects include the new Perelman Performing Arts Center at the World Trade Center in NY, and two auditoria in Chicago – one for Steppenwolf and one for Chicago Shakespeare. Charcoalblue have 12 major projects due to complete across the world in 2017.

Cutting-edge collaborations such as Siobhan Davies Dance, Graeae, T2, St. Ann’s Warehouse in New York, the Donmar Warehouse, Oval House and La Mama continue to diversify our portfolio.

Our unique collaborative approach and relentless attention to detail has won us awards, ecstatic reviews from the theatrical and architectural press and, most importantly, praise from our theatres’ performers, technicians and audiences. Despite our growth, we remain grounded in theatre practice and performance, and are still driven by a passion for all types of performing arts projects, big or small, new-build or refurbishment.

 

Business Operating Zone: Worldwide

 

Current Projects

  • Chicago Shakespeare Theater, Illinois
  • Perth Theatre, Scotland
  • Perse School, Cambridge
  • Alexandra Palace, London
  • Center Stage, Baltimore
  • Storyhouse, Chester
  • Bristol Old Vic Anniversary Works
  • Hull New Theatre, Hull
  • Royal Opera House, London
  • Astana, Kazakhstan
  • Southbank Centre, London
  • LAMDA, London
  • St Giles Circus, London
  • TheatreSquared, Arkansas
  • The Perelman Center, NYC
  • Steppenwolf, Chicago
  • Walker’s Court, London
  • Birmingham Conservatoire, Birmingham
  • St George’s, Bristol
  • Brighton Dome, Brighton
  • Susan Roberts Academy, London


Recent Projects

  • Theatre Peckham, London
  • Hudson Theatre, Broadway, New York
  • Wells Cathedral School, Somerset
  • National Theatre, Scotland
  • Brighton College
  • Chateau d’Hardelot, France
  • Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool
  • Theatre Royal, York
  • St Ann’s Warehouse, Brooklyn
  • Lyric Hammersmith, London
  • HOME, Manchester
  • Pratt Institute, Brooklyn
  • The Rotondes, Luxembourg
  • St Paul’s School, Barnes
  • Roundabout Theatre
  • National Theatre, London
  • Chichester Festival Theatre
  • Donmar Warehouse
  • Liverpool Everyman
  • Bristol Old Vic
  • Theatre Royal Newcastle
  • Marlowe Theatre
  • Glyndebourne Ebert Room
  • The Hepworth Wakefield
  • Royal Shakespeare Theatre
  • Hoffmann Building, Snape
  • National Theatre Studio
  • Young Vic Theatre
  • RSC Courtyard Theatre
  • English National Opera

 


Affiliations

  • ABTT
  • Society of Theatre Consultants
  • The Theatres Trust
  • Association of Lighting Designers
  • Institute of Electrical Engineers
  • Institute of Acoustics
  • Society for Theatre Research
  • IET
  • Acoustic Society of America
  • Audio Engineering Society

 

Exhibitions

  • ABTT Backstage Professional Development Conference
  • Theatrecraft
  • TCG
  • League of American Orchestras Conference
  • Showlight
  • MIPIM
  • ABTT Theatre Show

 

Awards Won

  • x 1 RIBA Stirling Prize
  • x 37 RIBA Awards
  • x 3 USITT Awards
  • x 2 Wallpaper* Awards
  • x 2 Architizer Awards
  • x 22 Civic Trust Awards
  • x 8 RICS Awards
  • x 5 NLA Awards
  • x 2 Retrofit Awards
  • x 5 AIA Awards
  • x 3 BCIA Awards
  • x 2 WAN Awards
  • x 3 Blueprint Awards

 

Latest News
Our latest news can be found at on our website.
http://www.charcoalblue.com/index.php/news/news-2017.html

Comments