11/11/2014 15:11 HRS

As announced last week, Louise Jeffreys, the Barbican’s Director of Arts and ABTT Chairman, was honoured along with her Barbican colleague Toni Racklin, the venue’s Head of Theatre, at the Empty Space…Peter Brook Awards 2014.

Together they accepted the Peter Brook Special Achievement Award for turning the Barbican Theatre into the most important international arts centre in London for foreign companies.

Louise Jeffreys, Director of Arts at the Barbican said, “I am absolutely thrilled that Toni Racklin and I have been presented with the Peter Brook Special Achievement Award.”

“At the Barbican we are committed to bringing the very best international theatre companies to London, as well as providing a platform for emerging artists to showcase their work, so we are delighted that our work has been recognised with this very special honour at the 25th anniversary of the Empty Space Awards.”

The Awards, now in their 25th year, were presented by London TheatrReviews, the Victoria & Albert Museum Theatre Department and the National Theatre Studio (where the event was held).

Empty Space…Peter Brook Awards 2014 winners in full are:

Empty Space…Peter Brook Award 2014 – Unicorn Theatre, London, “for its wonderful introduction to the classics as well as contemporary theatre for children.”

Mark Marvin Rent Subsidy Award (administered by SOLT) – Pippa Frith Productions at Birmingham Rep Door

Peter Brook/Equity Ensemble Award – Antic Disposition

Dan Crawford Innovation Award (sponsored by Nica Burns, Nimax Theatres) – Latitude Festival, “for its fantastic festival, with tons of venues, that grows in gigantic stages each year covering theatre, music, art, and dance.”

Peter Brook Festival Award – Kill the Beast, “a company that specialises in physical comedy and gorgeous visuals for boundary-pushing theatre.”

Peter Brook Special Achievement Award – Toni Racklin and Louise Jeffreys, Barbican Theatre, London, “for turning it into the most important international arts centre in London for foreign companies.”